Artstor is proud to announce the Digital Humanities Award. This award recognizes the most innovative and intellectually stimulating projects in this growing field as part of Artstor’s commitment to enhance scholarship and teaching across all disciplines through the use of digital media. Award recipients will receive five years of free access to Artstor’s innovative cloud-based digital asset management tool, Shared Shelf.

To apply for an Artstor Digital Humanities Award

Entrants are invited to describe their Digital Humanities project in 1,000 words or less. The team behind the best three entries will receive full, long-term access to Artstor’s Shared Shelf digital media management software to upload, catalog, manage, store, and share their project.

About Shared Shelf

Shared Shelf is a cloud-based, enterprise-wide media management solution that enables institutions to catalog efficiently and consistently, quickly create rich data records, make collections accessible to a targeted audience, and keep files safe. It provides a stable and flexible home for vast media collections, allowing assets to be used and re-used in different contexts. Shared Shelf also offers several other features crucial to the construction of a Digital Humanities project, including:

  • Media and associated data preservation according to NDSA standards
  • Compatibility with numerous file types, including image, audio, video, and PDF
  • Easy export (via OAI server and API) to Open Access environments, including Shared Shelf Commons, the open Web, DPLA, and OMEKA sites
  • Fully customizable cataloguing fields and screens
  • Role-based permissions and restrictions
  • Cloud-based with concurrent multiuser capabilities

You can learn more about Shared Shelf at, and find full contest rules and submission guidelines at The entry deadline is October 15, 2014. Winners will be announced in early December.

Tagged with:

Comments are closed.